Dāy – to love

«You are the Supreme Lord, to be worshiped by every living being. Thus I fall down to offer You my respectful obeisances and ask Your mercy. As a father tolerates the impudence of his son, or a friend tolerates the impertinence of a friend, or a wife tolerates the familiarity of her partner, please tolerate the wrongs I may have done You» (Bhagavad-gītā, 11.44).

Although English has some Indo-European derivations, the English “day” does not seem to have any connection with Sanskrit dāy. According to the Sanskrit dictionaries, the three letters mean “feel compassion for”, “sympathize with”, “feel sorry for” and also “love”, “like”, “protect”, “give”, and “hurt” and “kill” too. I like to think that “loving”, “giving”, “hurting” and “day” have something in common. For example, the idea of ​​not waiting to love, but loving today, on this very day, because not loving can hurt.

Give love Aries and give it immediately and every day. It is not just a courtly principle, at the moment it may be the best way to counteract the tensions of this period. Show compassion instead of intolerance when, especially at the end of the month, your patience will be put to the test even more.


Vakra-āsana, simple twist, standing variant

Keep your elbows back. Stay with your heart open in every direction. Practice this twist every day for one minute on each side.

Awareness exercise

When someone makes you nervous, think about how you would like them to address you. Think of the words you would like to hear from them instead of what they say, which makes you angry. Write notes with those ideal words or phrases. Re-read them and think if you generally address or speak to people in the same way.

Mantra of the month

«Give love».